Warsaw - Warsaw (Coloured Vinyl + Bonus Tracks)

Warsaw - Warsaw (Coloured Vinyl + Bonus Tracks)

  • Released: 07.06.2024
  • Label:  Vinyl Passion
  • Genre:  New Wave
  • Catalogue No:  VP90152
  • Barcode:  8719039006694
Regular price £17.99 £0.00 Unit price per Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The highly acclaimed U.K. post-punk band Joy Division was originally called Warsaw. Formed in Manchester, England in the late 1970s, the group consisted of Ian Curtis on vocals, Bernard Albrecht (aka Sumner, aka Dicken) on guitar, Peter Hook on bass and Stephen Morris on drums. Hook, Albrecht and Curtis hooked up at a local concert and later formed the group Warsaw. The band’s name was taken from a David Bowie-Brian Eno composition, “Warszawa”.

The 5 bonus tracks on this album are demos cut by the group at Pennine Studios in Manchester on July 18, 1977 with Steve Brotherdale on drums..

The first eleven tracks presented here were the result of a recording session for that album that took place in early May of 1978. Rehearsals leading up to the session resulted in two new songs being added to the group’s existing repertoire: “Interzone” and “Transmission.” “Interzone” was based on the backing track of the song “Keep On Keepin’ On,” to which the band added their own lyrics.

The Drawback Leaders of Men They Walked In Line Failures Novelty No Love Lost Tranmission Living In The Ice Age Interzone Warsaw Shadowplay As You Said Bonus Tracks: Inside The Line Gutz At A later Date The Kill You're No Good For Me

  1. The Drawback
  2. Leaders Of Me
  3. They Walked The Line
  4. Failures
  5. Novelty
  6. No Love Lost
  7. Transmission
  8. Living In The Ice Age
  9. Interzone
  10. Warsaw
  11. Shadowplay
  12. As You Said
  13. Inside The Line
  14. Gutz
  15. At A Later Date
  16. The Kill
  17. You're No Good For Me