Various Artists - Eddie Piller Presents: British Mod Sounds Of The 1960s (2LP)

Various Artists - Eddie Piller Presents: British Mod Sounds Of The 1960s (2LP)

Regular price £26.99

£0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Demon are proud to release “Eddie Piller Presents British Mod Sounds Of the 1960s”, the follow up the “The Mod Revival”. This 2LP set serves an introduction to 'British Mod Sounds of the '60s’ and features 34 tracks.

Curated by Acid Jazz Records and Modcast founder Eddie Piller, this collection features the stapes of the British Mod scene including Small Faces, The High Numbers, The Action, The Fleur De Lys, The Kinks, Spencer Davis Group, The Creation, Rod Stewart, The Yardbirds, and The Love Affair.

"Be in with the In Crowd once more."

Every great youth cult deserves a great soundtrack, and when the '60s Mods adopted classic American R&B, with a side order of hip Jazz, they undoubtedly found the right music for their exuberant and stylish way of life. And yet, buying expensive imports, hoping for a local release or praying for a rare visit from overseas talent was never going to be enough to satisfy British youth with a thirst for the latest sounds. Certainly not those on the dancefloor and definitely not those with their own musical ambitions.

It was a music scene that began with imitation, before skill and imagination lead curious minds to innovation, a scene that evolved from average (at best) copies of releases on the Chess, Motown and Stax labels, to become something more sophisticated,something quite unique, something very British.


1. The High Numbers - I'm The Face

2. The Action - Never Ever

3. The Hollies – Bust Stop

4. Small Faces - Don't Burst My Bubble

5. Georgie Fame & The Blue Flames - Sweet Thing

6. Tony And Tandy - Two Can Make It Together

7. Jimmy James & The Vagabonds - Ain't No Big Thing

8. Geno Washington & The Ram Jam Band - Michael (The Lover)

9. The Artwoods - I Take What I Want

Side B.

1. Dusty Springfield - Little By Little

2. The Richard Kent Style - I'm Out

3. Bluesology - Come Back Baby

4. Wynder K. Frog - Henry's Panter

5. The Organisers - The Organiser (feat. Harold Smart)

6. Timebox - Soul Sauce

7. The Spencer Davis Group - High Time Baby

8. The Syndicats - Crawdaddy Simone Demon Records New Release

Side C

1. The Fleur De Lys - Circles

2. Rod Stewart - Good Morning Little Schoolgirl

3. The Yardbirds - Over Under Sideways Down

4. The Birds - How Can It Be 5. The Creation - Makin' Time

6. The Carnaby - Jump And Dance

7. The Eyes - I'm Rowed Out

8. The Kinks - She's Got Everything

Side D

1. The Mike Cotton Sound - Soul Serenade

2. John Mayall & The Blues Breakers - Crawling Up A Hill

3. The Alan Bown Set - Emergency 999

4. The Quik - Bert's Apple Crumble

5. Apostolic Intervention - Madame Garcia

6. Madeline Bell - Picture Me Gone

7. Sharon Tandy - Hold On

8. P.P. Arnold - (If You Think You're) Groovy’

9. Love Affair - Everlasting Love

We are only a small shop with limited space. However, we have accounts with all the major suppliers and more, so drop us a line using the form below and let us know if you want this item or anything else that we currently don't have in stock. If the item is still being pressed, we'll order you a copy in, but if for any reason we can't get hold of something, we'll let you know.

Please note: the prices listed are based on the product the last time we sold it and are subject to change. We do our best to source everything at the best price possible, but we are restricted to reflect pricing provided by our suppliers.