The Charlatans - A Head Full Of Ideas (Transparent Blue 6LP Boxset (5LP+7") + Signed Poster)
The Charlatans - A Head Full Of Ideas (Transparent Blue 6LP Boxset (5LP+7") + Signed Poster)

The Charlatans - A Head Full Of Ideas (Transparent Blue 6LP Boxset (5LP+7") + Signed Poster)

  • Released: 15.10.2021
  • Label:  Then Records
  • Genre:  Indie
  • Catalogue No:  THEN1LPXX
  • Barcode:  5053760075387

Regular price £109.99

£0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

5LP + 7" Vinyl Set, SIGNED Exclusive Poster, 12 Page Fan Booklet, Limited Transparent Blue Vinyl.

The Charlatans proudly announce their 30th Anniversary tour and three accompanying vinyl variants, including this 6 vinyl boxset (5LP + 7") option. Released on Then Recordings these releases sum up their remarkable progress from 1990 Manchester scene hopefuls to one of the UK’s most enduring and best-loved bands. The accompanying tour begins at Belfast, Limelight 22/11/21 and finishes in Aberdeen on 20/12/21.

The band have notched up 13 Top 40 studio albums - three of them number ones - alongside 22 hit singles, four of them top 10. The rollercoaster highs have been accompanied by some shattering lows, any which one of them could have felled a less resilient band, from nervous breakdowns to near bankruptcy and the deaths of two founder members.

Somehow, they have not just carried on but adapted and transformed. The classic Charlatans sound - driving Hammond organ, Northern Soul and house-influenced rhythms, swaggering guitars and Tim Burgess’s sunny, yet somehow yearning vocal - is instantly recognisable. And in spite of everything they have been through their music is now more relevant than ever. The Guardian described their last album, Different Days as “one of their best ever”.

This limited box set, is a diverse collection portrayed over five Transparent blue vinyl LP’s, spanning their hits, classic live performances, unheard demo’s and rarities and remixes. Within the box will also be an exclusive Original Demo’s 7” featuring ‘Indian Rope’/’The Only One I Know’, as well as a signed print of a tour poster from the early 90’s, a booklet featuring unseen photographs and sleeve notes by friend and journalist Dave Simpson. There will also be triple vinyl LP version and 2CD deluxe of the box set featuring the hits albums plus the live album, and finally a cd or vinyl of just the hits albums.

Their iconic and hugely adored live track One To Another (circa 1997) provides the titles for the individual vinyl collection within the box set. Each piece of vinyl is named after a lyric from the song.

The team at Wax and Beans are incredibly excited about this release, we rank them amongst our favourite bands, having produced a tonne of amazing tracks and some of the best live gigs we've ever attended. 



1. The Only One I Know
2 Weirdo
3. Can’t Get out of Bed
4. Jesus Hairdo
5. Just When You’re Thinking Things Over
6. North Country Boy
7. Tellin’ Stories
8. One to Another
9. How High
10. Impossible
11. Forever
12. Love is the Key
13. A Man Needs to be Told
14. Up at The Lake
15. Blackened Blue Eyes
16. Oh Vanity
17. My Foolish Pride
18. Come Home Baby
19. Let the Good Times be Never Ending
20. Plastic Machinery
21. Totally Eclipsing


1. Polar Bear (Blackburn, King Georges Hall. November 1990 - BBC Radio 1)
2. Indian Rope (Reading Festival 1992 - BBC Radio 1)
3. Can’t Even Be Bothered (Reading Festival 1992 - BBC Radio 1)
4. Can’t Get Out of Bed (Glasgow Tramway, Sound City 1994 - BBC Radio1)
5. I Never Want an Easy Life (If Me and Him Were Ever to Get There) (Glasgow Tramway, Sound City 1994 - BBC Radio1)
6. Then (Glastonbury Festival 1995 - BBC Radio 1)
7. Here Comes a Soul Saver (Hultsfred Festival, Sweden 1997)
8. My Beautiful Friend (Delamare Forest, Cheshire 2007)
9. The Blind Stagger (Delamare Forest, Cheshire 2007)
10. Sproston Green (Reading Festival 1999 - BBC Radio 1)


1. C’mon C’Mon (Demo Version)
2. Sleepy Little Sunshine Boy (Desk Mix Version)
3. Dardanella (Demo Version)
4. So Oh (Demo Version)
5. Always on my Mind (Demo Version)
6. Everybody Ha Ha (Demo Version)
7. Commuter Computer (Demo Version)
8. Crystal Eyes (Demo Version)
9. Polar Bear (Demo Version)
10. I Need You To Know (Demo Version)


1. Plastic Machinery (Sleaford Mods Remix)
2. Nine Acre Dust (Chemical Brothers Remix)
3. So Oh (Brian Jonestown Massacre Remix)
4. Tellin’ Stories (The Go! Team Remix) **unreleased**
5. Trouble Understanding (Norman Cook Remix)
6. My Beautiful Friend (Jagz Kooner Remix)
7. Hey Sunrise (The Orb Remix) **unreleased**
8. You’re So Pretty, We’re So Pretty (Lo Fidelity Allstars Remix)


1. Indian Rope (Demo)
2. The Only One I Know (Demo)

We are only a small shop with limited space. However, we have accounts with all the major suppliers and more, so drop us a line using the form below and let us know if you want this item or anything else that we currently don't have in stock. If the item is still being pressed, we'll order you a copy in, but if for any reason we can't get hold of something, we'll let you know.

Please note: the prices listed are based on the product the last time we sold it and are subject to change. We do our best to source everything at the best price possible, but we are restricted to reflect pricing provided by our suppliers.