Raw Poetic And Damu The Fudgemunk - Laminated Skies (Spearmint Vinyl)

Raw Poetic And Damu The Fudgemunk - Laminated Skies (Spearmint Vinyl)

Regular price £22.99 £0.00 Unit price per Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Laminated Skies’ is the new album by Jason Moore aka Raw Poetic, produced alongside friend and frequent collaborator Earl Davis aka Damu the Fudgemunk and featuring guest musicians Pat "P" Fritz on guitar and Luke Stewart on bass. Sessions for ‘Laminated Skies’ took place in the sweltering summer heat in 2019 at Windom Road studio in Brentwood, Maryland; with Damu’s production adding a tapestry of instrumentation including live and programmed drums, strings, vibraphone, kalimba, melodica, vinyl scratching and synthesizers.

Musically pulling from the genres that make hip hop; the multidimensional work also draws inspiration from Ralph Ellison’s novel The Invisible Man, spirituals, and their individual influences -, on which Jason says “I was an English major, Luke is a jazz bassist, Pat a classically trained guitarist, and Earl brought in a wealth of knowledge that funneled us through a direction that worked.” ‘Laminated Skies’ is Raw Poetic's sixth solo album and first official solo release on a label (London’s Def Pressé). It’s also his most personal album. He explains “I still can’t fully describe what kind of album this is so I’ve now reserved myself to telling people it’s a “Jason” album. I wanted to tell people what the hell is going on through my head sometimes; how I feel as a guy from Northern Virginia. Sometimes it’s invisible, other times invincible. Sometimes loved, sometimes hurt. Once we got started mixing and matching ideas, well… it became something that I am very proud of.”


1. Open Roads

2. Chewing Gum

3. Ralph Ellison

4. Guide

5. Intertwined

6. Sunny Water

7. Hey Autumn Pt. 1 / When Autumn Replied Pt. 2

8. Reflected Pearls

9. Cadillac

Listen here