Jon Spencer & The Hitmakers - Spencer Gets It Lit (Frosted Clear Vinyl)

Jon Spencer & The Hitmakers - Spencer Gets It Lit (Frosted Clear Vinyl)

  • Released: 29.04.2022
  • Label:  Bronzerat
  • Genre:  Rock
  • Barcode:  5051083180658

Regular price £24.99

£0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The indelible Jon Spencer (Blues Explosion, Boss Hog, Pussy Galore, Heavy Trash etc) is back with JON SPENCER & the HITmakers. The forthcoming long-layer SPENCER GETS IT LIT is out April 1st on Bronzerat Records. Spencer Gets It Lit delivers friction, excitement, and post-modern depravity in a gonzo retaliation against idiocy that is as good a balm for our collective PTSD as any. Across layers of big beats, fuzz guitar, and fat synths he spits, croons, rhapsodises, and seduces. Spencer Gets It Lit is his most complex, groovy, and fun record in years; a dark and danceable odyssey – both a studied take-down of the early 21st century, and a celebration of the place where electricity meets the mind. ‘The Worst Facts’ has the HITmakers chanting “It's called a fact!” over a uniquely Spencer lesson in humility.

‘Strike 3’ has Spencer exchange anxieties with HITmaker (and one half of Quasi) Sam Coomes (Jon: “This world! Make me feel bad!”, Sam: “I'm grindin' my teeth! Grindin' 'em out!” ) before they jointly erupt into the chorus of “Hot dogs! Baseball!...We're gonna die!!". Forthcoming single ‘Worm Town’ (with its gambit “Twinkle twinkle little star, tried to run but didn't get far”) is country-synth-funk that you didn't know you needed til you needed it. In ‘Get It Right Now’, Spencer mixes hitmaking with troublemaking, calling out Zuckerberg, Bezos, and, er, Jagger (“You got nothin' on me!!”). Spencer Gets It Lit is classic Jon Spencer taken to the extremis – electro-boogie, constructivist art pop, a cocktail of industrial sleaze and futurist elegance. Says Spencer, "Send out the Hit Signal! This is the most uncompromising album I've ever made!"


1. Junk Man

2. Get It Right Now

3. Death Ray

4. The Worst Facts

5. Primary Baby

6. Worm Town

7. Bruise

8. Layabout Trap

9. Push Comes To Shove

10. My Hit Parade

11. Rotting Money

12. Strike 3

13. Get Up & Do It bonus CD tracks

14. Germ Vs. Jerk

15. The Devil’s Ice Age

We are only a small shop with limited space. However, we have accounts with all the major suppliers and more, so drop us a line using the form below and let us know if you want this item or anything else that we currently don't have in stock. If the item is still being pressed, we'll order you a copy in, but if for any reason we can't get hold of something, we'll let you know.

Please note: the prices listed are based on the product the last time we sold it and are subject to change. We do our best to source everything at the best price possible, but we are restricted to reflect pricing provided by our suppliers.